CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Regional Perceptions of Turkey in the Middle East

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. – Please join the Center for American Progress, the Friedrich Ebert Foundation, and the TESEV Institute on Tuesday, February 12, as we host a presentation and discussion of the latest installment of “The Perception of Turkey in the Middle East 2012.”

The survey is the fourth annual poll of regional public opinion conducted by the TESEV Institute and sheds light on perceptions of the transitions occurring in Syria, Libya, Egypt, Tunisia, and Iran; the role of Turkey; the role of international actors in the events of 2012; perspectives on security; and perceptions of the Turkish democratic model.

Turkey has dramatically expanded its influence in recent years throughout the Mediterranean and beyond, operating as an interlocutor and partner to Europe, the United States, and the Middle East. Understanding Turkey’s role in the region is critical to E.U. and U.S. foreign policy, particularly in the wake of the transformations reshaping the Arab world. “The Perception of Turkey in the Middle East 2012” is a regional public opinion survey conducted in late 2012 in 16 countries across the Middle East and North Africa which illustrates the importance of economic worries which get little attention, details Turkey’s enduring popularity in the Arab world, and confirms persistent anti-American sentiment in much of the region.

WHO:

Introductory Remarks:
Michael Meier, Friedrich Ebert Foundation, Director, Istanbul office

Presentation of findings:
Sabiha Senyücel Gündoğar, Director, TESEV Foreign Policy Program
Mensur Akgün, Director, Global Political Trends Center

Discussion of findings:
Yavuz Baydar, Columnist, Daily Zaman
Brian Katulis, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Moderator:
Michael Werz, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHEN:

February 12, 2013
12:00 p.m.– 1:30 p.m. ET

RSVP

RSVP for this event →

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC20005

Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org