CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: State Supreme Court Justices to Discuss How Big Business Is Taking Over State Courts

New Report to Highlight Influence of Corporate Money on Alabama, Texas, Ohio, Nevada, Wisconsin and Michigan Courts

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C.On Monday, August 13 at noon, please join Legal Progress for an discussion between two state supreme court justices who have had a front row seat to the perverse effects that corporate interest money is having over the judiciary, and for a discussion about Citizens United’s role over courtrooms today and for the future. At this event Legal Progress will also release two new reports on corporate influence over the judicial system in America.

Ninety five percent of cases in America are heard in state courts, which are under siege by corporate interest money. Thirty-nine states elect their state supreme court justices, and over the last 20 years, corporate interests have flooded into the elections for these judges, raising grave doubts about the ability of Americans across the country to get a fair hearing in court.

WHO:

Introduction:

Andrew Blotky
, director, Legal Progress

Featured panelists:

Justice James Nelson
, Montana Supreme Court; author of a noted dissent in the 2012 Montana campaign finance decision challenging Citizens United

Oliver Diaz, Former Mississippi Supreme Court Justice; outspoken critic of the role of corporate money in judicial elections

Moderated by:

Tom Perriello, President and Chief Executive Officer, Center for American Progress Action Fund; Counselor for Policy, Center for American Progress

A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

WHEN:

Monday, August 13, 2012
12:00 p.m.- 1:00 p.m. ET

RSVP

RSVP for this event
For more information, call 202-682-1611

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org