CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Disproportionate Criminalization of LGBT Youth

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — On Friday, June 29, the Center for American Progress will host a conversation on the disproportionate criminalization of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender or LGBT youth—from harsh school sanctions that perpetuate a school-to-prison pipeline, to the bias and abuse they face within the juvenile justice system.

The discussion will explore why LGBT youth continue to experience high rates of bullying and harassment in schools, hostile treatment by school administrators and family and community rejection leaving them vulnerable and at risk of entering the juvenile justice system.

WHO

Keynote address:

Dr. Angela Irvine, Director of Research, National Council on Crime and Delinquency

Panelists:

Marie Williams, Gay, Lesbian & Straight Education Network
Ryan Wilson, U.S. Department of Justice
Maya Rupert, National Council for Lesbian Rights

Moderated by:

Aisha Moodie-Mills, Advisor, LGBT Policy & Racial Justice, Center for American Progress

WHEN

Friday, June 29, 2012
10:00am – 11:30am
A light breakfast will be served at 9:30 AM.

LOCATION

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP

RSVP for this event

For more information, please contact Christina DiPasquale at cdipasquale@americanprogress.org or 202.481.8181.

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org