CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Secretary Bryson to Discuss Building on the Progress in Turkish-American Economic Cooperation

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

Washington, D.C. — U.S.-Turkish relations are arguably as strong as ever, with Ankara as a strategic partner on many geopolitical issues. Despite reaching a bilateral trade record this past year of approximately $20 billion—with even further growth potential for trade and commerce—bilateral commercial relations have not kept pace with these close political and military ties. Given the Obama administration’s considerable emphasis on deepening the U.S.-Turkey economic and trade relationship, the Center for American Progress will host Secretary of Commerce John Bryson, the co-chair of the U.S.-Turkey Framework for Strategic Economic and Commercial Cooperation, on Thursday, April 5, to discuss the way forward and his vision for deepening even further the U.S.-Turkish commercial relationship.

WHO:

Introduction:
Neera Tanden, President, Center for American Progress

Welcoming remarks:
Rizanur Meral
, President, Confederation of Businessmen and Industrialists of Turkey, or TUSKON

Keynote:
John Bryson, Secretary of Commerce

Lunch will be served following the discussion.

WHEN:

Thursday, April 5, 2012
12:00 p.m. – 2:00 p.m.

RSVP

RSVP for this event
For more information, call 202.682.1611.
 

WHERE:

The Willard Hotel Grand Ballroom
1401 Pennsylvania Ave. NW
Washington, D.C. 20004

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Red/Blue/Orange Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org