CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Deputy Secretary of Defense Lynn to Speak at CAP on National Security and Budget Austerity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Christina DiPasquale
Phone: 202.481.8181
Email: cdipasquale@americanprogress.org

National Security in a Time of Budget Austerity

Deputy Secretary of Defense William J. Lynn III

October 5, 2011, 10:00 a.m. – 11:00 a.m.

About This Event

Please join keynote speaker William J. Lynn III, deputy secretary of defense, for a farewell address on his last day serving in the Obama administration. As the Pentagon’s second-highest-ranking civilian, Secretary Lynn has been a key member of President Obama’s national security team for more than two and a half years. He will discuss how to keep our nation safe in a time of fiscal austerity.

Following Secretary Lynn’s remarks, former Deputy Secretary of Defense Rudy deLeon, now the Center for American Progress’s Senior VP for National Security and International Policy, will join Secretary Lynn in a conversation that will cover a wide range of national security issues, including cyber security, the future of war, and the effort to achieve a more unified national security budget.

Keynote speaker:

William J. Lynn III, Deputy Secretary of Defense, Department of Defense

Moderator:

Rudy deLeon, Senior Vice President for National Security and International Policy, Center for American Progress; former Deputy Secretary of Defense, Department of Defense

Introduction:

Richard Verma, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress; former Assistant Secretary of State

RSVP

RSVP for this event
For more information, call 202.682.1611.

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, D.C. 20005

Map & Directions
Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org