CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: The Moral Complexity of a Diverse Latino Community

Thursday, August 11, 2011, 12:00pm – 1:30pm

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

While Latinos are often seen as a monolithic community that is Catholic and socially conservative, the reality is far more nuanced and complex. Unlike conventional wisdom, Latino Catholics tend to actually be more progressive than Latino evangelicals on key social issues such as LGBT equality and reproductive rights and justice. And while the majority of Latinos are Catholics, an increasing number are becoming evangelical. There are also marked generational differences as well as differing views depending on whether one is an immigrant or U.S. born. What are the policy and political implications of these differing identities and views? And what efforts are underway in the Latino community to examine these issues through a family values or moral/faith lens?

Please join the Center for American Progress for an insightful discussion with leadings scholars and practitioners to explore the diversity of the Latino community, their views on key social issues, and the impact these views have on the policy and political world.

Opening Remarks:

  • Sally Steenland, Director, Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative, Center for American Progress

Featured Panelists:

Moderator:

RSVP

RSVP for this event For more information, call 202-682-1611

Location

Center for American Progress

1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor

Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org