CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Population, Justice and the Environmental Challenge

A discussion on the complex connections among population growth, climate change and other environmental issues.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Tuesday, November 17, 2009, 10:00am – 11:30am

WASHINGTON, D.C. – We are living in a pivotal moment: pivotal for the earth’s climate, for other natural systems, and for world population. The decisions made today, especially by policymakers and by the world’s estimated 3 billion people under the age of 25, will determine whether human numbers grow from 6.8 billion to 8 billion, or even 11 billion, by 2050.

As the world struggles to respond to climate change, concern about population growth is making a comeback—and raising critical questions: To what extent are demographic changes a factor in today’s environmental problems? Are these issues a subject for debate in Copenhagen? Could renewed interest in population growth present an opportunity to mobilize resources for reproductive health, women’s rights and other vitally important programs? Is there a risk that fears of exponential growth will revive population policies that trample, rather than advance, women’s health and human rights?

Join Laurie Mazur, editor of A Pivotal Moment: Population, Justice and the Environmental Challenge (Island Press, 2009), and a panel of experts to discuss the complex connections among population growth, climate change and other environmental issues, and explore the policies necessary to advance environmental sustainability and reproductive rights, equity and justice.

Copies of A Pivotal Moment: Population, Justice and the Environmental Challenge will be available for purchase at the event.

Featured Speakers:

Laurie Mazur, editor, A Pivotal Moment: Population, Justice and the Environmental Challenge
Andrew Light, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress; Director, Center for Global Ethics at George Mason University
Rachel Harris, U.S. Climate Change Campaign Coordinator, Women’s Environment and Development Organization

Moderated by:

Shira Saperstein, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress

Coffee will be served at 9:30 a.m.

RSVP

Click here to RSVP for this event For more information, call 202-682-1611

Location

Center for American Progress 1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions  Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org