CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Weathering the Storm: Black Male Employment in the Recession

Friday, June 19, 2009, 12:00pm – 1:15pm

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

The recession is taking a toll on most Americans and has resulted in job losses not seen in almost 25 years. There are less jobs available, but black men have long faced limited employment prospects and disproportionately high rates of unemployment. The current degree of job loss among black men is particularly alarming. These losses will likely only increase as economic instability continues. To address this crisis, policymakers are actively focused on creating more jobs, but the issues that affect black men go beyond job creation. We must also address racial discrimination, high rates of incarceration, the impact of criminal records on job prospects, and limited educational attainment.

Please join the Center for American Progress for a discussion that will explore the root causes of black men’s difficulties in the labor market and examine policy solutions that will reduce inequities and promote equal opportunity. Speakers will address the current status of black men’s labor market participation; race-based employment discrimination; barriers to employment posed by criminal records; and relevant legislative approaches to eliminating barriers to work.

Featured Panelists:

Algernon Austin, Director of the Race, Ethnicity, and Economy Program, Economic Policy Institute

Barbara Arnwine, Executive Director, Lawyers’ Committee for Civil Rights Under Law

Neil Bomberg, National League of Cities

Maurice Emsellem, Policy Director, National Employment Law Project

Moderated by:

Alexandra Cawthorne, Research Associate, Center for American Progress

A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

Click here to RSVP for this event

Location

Center for American Progress 1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005

Map & Directions Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

###

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org