CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Addressing the Teacher Quality Gap

Strategies to Attract Effective Teachers to Hard-to-Staff Schools

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Thursday, November 20, 2008 – 12:00pm to 2:00pm

 

Featured Panelists:

Cory Curl, Senior Research Analyst, Governor’s Office of State Planning and Policy (TN) Segun Eubanks, Director, Teacher Quality Department, National Education Association Dan Goldhaber, Research Professor, University of Washington’s Center on Reinventing Public Education Julie Kowal, Senior Consultant, Public Impact Victoria Van Cleef, Vice President of Staffing Initiatives, The New Teacher Project

Moderated by:

Robin Chait, Senior Education Policy Analyst, Center for American Progress

It is no surprise that according to most measures, teachers are inequitably distributed among students. Poor and minority students are more likely to have teachers with less experience and weaker qualifications. This inequity is troubling, since among all other school factors, teachers have the greatest influence on student learning. So what can states and districts do to attract and retain effective teachers in high poverty schools? What do we know about the efficacy of recruitment and incentive strategies, including those strategies used in other sectors outside education?

Join us for a lively discussion that will provide new data, insights, and fresh thinking about how to address teacher equity. Two new papers from the Center for American Progress will launch our discussion. One, by Dan Goldhaber, describes the labor market for teachers, assesses what we know about financial incentives and some of the other policy options for attracting effective teachers to hard-to-staff schools, and makes four policy recommendations designed to address teacher equity. The second paper, by Julie Kowal, Bryan Hassel, and Emily Ayscue Hassel explores the research from other sectors—including civil service, the military, and the medical field—about the use of financial incentives to recruit candidates for hard-to-staff positions and offers some lessons learned for education. This event will feature comments from experts who have been intimately involved in policy development and the implementation of strategies to attract effective teachers to high-needs schools.

Admission is free.

A light lunch will be served at 11:30 a.m.

Center for American Progress 1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor Washington, DC 20005 Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP for this Event

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org