CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

ADVISORY: Nationalize The Schools (…A Little)!

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Contact: Madeline Meth
Phone: 202.741.6277
Email: mmeth@americanprogress.org

Tuesday, March 4, 9:00 am – 10:30 am
March 4, 2008, 9:00am10:30am

A light breakfast will be served at 8:30 a.m.

Featured Panelists:

Reginald M. Felton, Director of Federal Relations, National School Boards Association
Matt Miller, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress
Roy Romer, Chairman, Strong American Schools

Moderated by:

Cynthia G. Brown, Center for American Progress

RSVP for this Event

WASHINGTON, DC – Please join the Center for American Progress for this timely discussion and Q&A session on a new paper by Senior Fellow Matt Miller.

“Local control” is the most sacred principle in American education, an idea so deeply ingrained in history and practice that its shortcomings are almost never articulated. Yet a look at the history of local control as the organizing principle of schooling suggests that an approach that made perfect sense in the 1700’s is crippling American education today. Whatever its successes in the past, local control today assures four major problems: dramatic financial inequity; no overall way to assess student achievement; disincentives for research and development; and excessive politicization of schooling. As a result of these and related failings, most schools, far from relishing the supposed freedom granted by local control, feel trapped and disempowered.

The only way to demand more from schools while freeing educators and parents to find diverse ways for schools to perform better is to take a cue from other advanced countries and move toward a more nationalized system, especially when it comes to the standards we expect students to meet and the resources we allocate to help them do so.

Location

Center for American Progress
1333 H St. NW, 10th Floor
Washington, DC 20005
Map & Directions

Nearest Metro: Blue/Orange Line to McPherson Square or Red Line to Metro Center

RSVP for this Event

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org