CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Statement on the Passing of Wangari Maathai

SOURCE: AP/Charlie Neibergall

Nobel Peace Prize laureate Wangari Maathai speaks during the Nobel Peace Prize Forum on March 10, 2006, at Luther College in Decorah, Iowa.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Today, Africa and the world mourn the passing of Wangari Maathai, a tireless advocate for women, the environment, democracy, and Africa.

Maathai spoke truth to power in all she did, whether she was empowering women to fight poverty through conservation or protesting the government that she so proudly served. She richly deserved the Nobel Peace Prize she received in 2004, and she took on every fight with a sense of hope that will continue to inspire activists and leaders for generations to come.

I was honored to work with Maathai through the Clinton Global Initiative and through her work on the Green Belt Movement. She always filled the room with her optimism, laughter, and magical presence. She was a great friend and will be sorely missed. But her memory will live on through all those she inspired, through the change she brought to Africa, and in the healthier more peaceful world she left behind.

John Podesta is President and CEO of American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (Oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (Immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org