CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Video: Growing Up in a Post-9/11 World

The Millennial Generation Speaks

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The attacks of 9/11 left a permanent mark on the psyche of the American people. For those who were in middle or high school, or just starting college in 2001, their lives and worldviews were changed by 9/11 in a way that no other event could compare during these formative years.

"Growing Up 9/11" tells the story of some of the young men and women who will soon become the leaders of our country. The video asks the 15- to 30-year-olds who currently make up 30 percent of our nation: What did 9/11 mean to you? From the career paths they choose to the media they consume, this generation’s views on 9/11 and the impact it had on them will shape our society and our policies over the next few decades.

(transcript, mp4, YouTube)

See also:

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org