CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Interactive: Who Will Lead Egypt?

Some of the Players in the Running

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon


Egyptians have toppled the long-ruling Mubarak government and begun to dismantle the police state he maintained. But much remains to be done. Voters will go to the polls this fall to elect a new president, but whoever wins will have a fractious and complex political space to unite and lead.

Here’s a look at some of the players who may decide how Egypt will reshape itself in the years to come.

«Click on the names at left to learn more about them.
 


 

 

 

 

 

Photo Credit: Photos from AP Images except Hamdeen Sabahi, from flickr/elhamalawy

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org