CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Necessary Progress in Biosecurity

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

We need to strengthen U.S. biosecurity. The Obama White House’s recent policy document on biosecurity, "National Strategy for Countering Biological Threats," judged that biological attacks could place at risk the lives of hundreds of thousands of people and impose costs exceeding one trillion dollars. A U.N. secretary’s report on terrorism stated that “[t]he most important under-addressed threat relating to terrorism, and one which acutely requires new thinking on the part of the international community, is that of terrorists using a biological weapon.” The U.S. anthrax attacks of 2001 showed that a tiny amount of powder in a few envelopes could cause tremendous national anxiety and disruption, in addition to illness and death. Advances in the biological sciences will improve human health, expand the food supply, and provide countless other benefits. As an example of the pace of change, the cost of human genome sequencing has declined 10,000-fold in the last twenty years. But these advances in science will also lower the cost of creating biological weapons. Given these and many other events, assessments, and trends, it is clear that the United States and other nations must work strongly to counter the threats posed by biological terrorism.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org