CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Embrace New Security Strategy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

When the Obama administration releases its new national security strategy Thursday, it is sure to spark a sharp debate, for the plan is grounded in core progressive foreign policy principles that stand in sharp contrast to mainstream conservative doctrine.

Today, conservatives talk about an outdated conception of power — saying that to be safe, the United States must dominate the world. Stuck in a 19th-century mindset, many conservatives view international rules and institutions as an entangling web of interdependence designed to constrain U.S. freedom of action.

Conservatives are pessimistic that other countries will pull their weight or skeptical that their consent is worth the trouble it would take to persuade them. From this perspective, Washington must alone assume responsibility for global security.

Read more here.
 

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org