CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The NATO Divide: Why the United States and NATO Aren’t on the Same Page in Afghanistan

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Facing a barrage of bad news coming out of Afghanistan, U.S. policymakers and military leaders are finally realizing that the mission in Afghanistan is under threat and that more resources, troops, and attention are required immediately. Yet, bogged down and overstretched in Iraq, U.S. officials recognize they can’t do it alone and are urging NATO to fill the gaps. They have tried browbeating, cajoling, guilt-tripping, and even cross-Atlantic road shows to convince NATO countries to step up. However, in order for America to be effective in garnering more support, it must first understand why its allies are so reluctant.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org