CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: North Carolina’s Changing Racial Demographics

Communities of Color Increase in the State but Are Overrepresented in Low-Income Jobs

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

North Carolina has experienced significant demographic shifts over the last 10 years, and the state is expected to follow the rest of the country’s exponential growth in communities of color. It needs to improve the racial distribution of residents across high and average income-earning occupations to keep pace with the economic demands of these demographic changes. Presently, workers of color are overrepresented in the service sector and crowded out of opportunities in higher-earning tiers such as management.

See the infographic below for data on statewide growth of communities of color and the distribution of employment in North Carolina’s largest industries.

Progress 2050 is a project of the Center for American Progress that develops new ideas for an increasingly diverse America. See their project page for more information.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org