CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Are We Past the Tipping Point on Support for Marriage Equality?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

When President Barack Obama announced his support for marriage equality back in May, many speculated that his action might provoke a backlash against same-sex marriage. But that clearly has not happened. Instead, we’re now seeing consistent majority support for marriage equality in polls.

The latest example comes from a CBS News/New York Times poll taken earlier this month. In that poll, 51 percent of respondents thought it should be legal for same-sex couples to marry, compared to 41 percent who thought it shouldn’t.

Similarly, in a mid-August AP/National Constitution Center poll, 53 percent of respondents said government should give legal recognition to same-sex marriages, compared to 42 percent saying it should not.

This majority support for marriage equality is now the norm. And judging from trends of the last several years, we should expect these majorities to grow smartly throughout the decade.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here