CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Tax the Rich, Pass the Jobs Bill

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

President Barack Obama is strongly making the case for his jobs proposal lately and arguing equally strongly that the rich should foot the bill for this legislation. He appears to be winning the battle of public opinion on both fronts.

In the most recent Washington Post/ABC poll, 52 percent say they support his plan, even though the $450 billion price tag is prominently mentioned, and just 36 percent are opposed.

do you support or oppose the president's jobs plan?

And in the same poll, respondents were asked whether President Obama’s jobs package, if it passed Congress, would improve the jobs situation. By a 58-40 margin, the public said it would.

do you think the president's jobs plan will improve the jobs picture?

As for taxing the rich, that idea is wildly popular. By an astounding 52-point margin (75-23) the public supports the idea of raising taxes on those making over $1 million a year.

do you support taxing millionaires?

Conservatives said the American people would reject President Obama’s proposals because they were “big government, tax and spend.” And many pundits predicted President Obama’s aggressive approach would alienate centrist voters who wanted a continued focus on deficit reduction and bipartisanship at all costs. Wrong on both counts.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis, go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website. 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here