CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Lessons of 9/11

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Last week, the country observed the 10th anniversary of the terrorist attacks on September 11, 2001. It’s a good time to ask which lessons the public has drawn from that experience and subsequent efforts to fight terrorism. A new poll from the University of Maryland’s Program on International Policy Attitudes sheds light on this question.

First, the public was asked directly what the most important lesson of 9/11 was: “The United States needs to work more closely with other countries to fight terrorism,” or “The United States needs to act on its own more to fight terrorism.” By an overwhelming 69-28, the public sided with the idea that we should work more closely with other countries.

The public was also asked for their assessment of contemporary Islam: Is violent conflict inevitable because of Islamic intolerance or is it possible to find common ground with most in the Islamic world? By 59-37, the public endorsed the common ground concept.

what did we learn from 9/11?

Finally, the public was asked about the proper approach to rooting out terrorists. Is it necessary to address the sources of hostility that lead to terrorism or is finding and destroying terrorists the only thing that matters? By 61-33, the public rejected the idea that destroying terrorists should be our sole concern in this area.

what did we learn from 9/11?

That’s what the public thinks, 10 years on. Conservatives draw quite different lessons, of course, but in doing so they depart from the mainstream of public opinion—as usual.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress. To learn more about his public opinion analysis go to the Media and Progressive Values page and the Progressive Studies program page of our website.  

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here