CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Public Opinion Snapshot: Focus on Jobs, Don’t Mess with Medicare and Social Security

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

In anticipation of President Barack Obama’s speech to Congress on the job situation this coming Thursday, pundits are heatedly debating whether the president should go big or small in his recommendations for action. Given Friday’s dreadful jobs report—no net new jobs created—and the stated priorities of the American public, it would seem like going big is in order.

Right after the debt ceiling deal last month, the public was asked whether creating jobs or cutting spending should be our nation’s highest priority now. By an overwhelming 62 percent to 29 percent margin, the public prioritized job creation. Sounds like a cue for serious action rather than small-bore proposals that won’t have much of an effect on the problem. (see chart)

chart 1

That’s the public’s priority. The American people also have some priorities about what they don’t want to happen as Congress continues its deliberations about the long-term budgetary situation. By a lopsided 64 percent to 35 percent, they say they don’t want major changes in Social Security and Medicare included in future deficit reduction proposals. (see chart)

chart 2

Create jobs and don’t mess around with Social Security and Medicare. A simple recipe for Congress if only they could be induced to follow it.

Ruy Teixeira is a Senior Fellow at the Center for American Progress.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Public Opinion Snapshot

For more from the same column, click here