CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

He’ll Be Back

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Has the American Dream come to an end? Certainly, the worst economic crisis since the Great Depression has convinced most Americans that attaining the dream will not be easy in the future.

In a National Journal poll last September, 62% thought the economy would experience more severe cycles of boom and bust than in the past, and 79% said average families in the future would suffer economic reversals more often than in the past.

But this pessimism about the economy as a whole is tempered by considerable personal optimism about the future. In a December AP poll, an amazing 82% said they were optimistic about what the year 2010 would bring for "you and your family." And in a Center for American Progress poll last February, when the economy was teetering on the brink of a complete meltdown, three-quarters of the public said they had either already achieved the American Dream (34%) or would in their lifetime (41%).

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org