CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Faith Groups Join to Halve Poverty in 10 Years

Initiative Brings Together Members of Different Religions

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Read the full column (CAPAF)

There are 43.6 million Americans and 15.5 million children living in poverty today. These are crisis-level numbers and bringing them down will take communities coming together and committing to reducing poverty nationwide. It’s a welcome sign, then, that communities across the country are responding to this urgent call to action by ramping up their efforts to reduce poverty. State, local, and national organizations representing a diverse array of advocacy areas—including child well-being, homelessness, people of faith, and the business community—have joined in support of the Half in Ten campaign’s antipoverty advocacy efforts.

In a parallel effort, three faith-based organizations—the Jewish Council for Public Affairs, Catholic Charities USA, and the National Council of Churches in Christ—are spearheading Fighting Poverty with Faith, a faith-centered mobilization to cut poverty in half by 2020. The initiative is now in its third year. It’s a month-long effort that challenges faith-based groups across the country to raise awareness about poverty and its solutions. This year’s policy focus is on protecting the social safety net and human needs programs, promoting effective job-creation strategies, and taking action in one’s own community.

Read the full column (CAPAF)

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org