CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Iraq Timeline: The “Next Few Months” Are Now

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The House Committee on Armed Services is meeting today to consider "what’s next for Iraq." Many military and government officials appear to believe the answer to that question should be "more of the same"—a disastrous status quo.

Throughout this past spring and summer, supporters of the war claimed that September would be the time to evaluate whether the troop escalation was improving the situation on the ground. Progress would be seen in "the next few months, in September," they said.

Now that September’s here and mounting evidence—including recent reports from military professionals, the U.S. intelligence community, and the Government Accountability Office—shows little to no progress in Iraq, war supporters are calling for a next "next few months." Scroll through the timeline below to see the broken record for yourself, going all the way back to 2003.

Use the scroll bar at the bottom to navigate through the timeline. Click on the photos  for more information about each statement.
 


 

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org