CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Schools Are Failing LGBT Youth and Funneling Them into Prison

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

See also: Beyond Bullying: How Hostile School Climate Perpetuates the School-to-Prison Pipeline for LGBT Youth by Preston Mitchum and Aisha Moodie-Mills

Hostile school climates pave the way for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, youth to spend less time in school and more time on the streets, thus increasing the likelihood of entering into the school-to-prison pipeline. By promoting safe, welcoming, and affirming school climates, policymakers and school administrators can ensure that LGBT youth—who all too often face harassment and discrimination in school—will excel.

Make no mistake, hostile school environments encompass much more than peer-on-peer bullying: dress codes, unenumerated policies, lack of access to LGBT resources, and zero tolerance policies, for example, all feed the school-to-prison pipeline.

The numbers are clear: The actions and inactions of adults in schools derail LGBT youth and unless these climates become more welcoming, schools will continue to fail LGBT youth by pushing them into a cycle of unfair criminalization.

School-to-prison pipeline infographic

Preston Mitchum was a Policy Analyst with the FIRE Initiative at the Center for American Progress, which examines the impact of public policy on LGBT people of color.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org