CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

California Supreme Court Upholds Proposition 8

SOURCE: AP/Paul Sakuma

The California Supreme Court, pictured above, today ruled to uphold Proposition 8, which bans same-sex unions.

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The California Supreme Court’s decision to uphold Proposition 8 is disappointing, but it should not distract us from the progress that is being made toward marriage equality. The number of states where same-sex couples can marry has more than doubled since November, and an April poll from ABC News and The Washington Post found more Americans supporting gay marriage than opposing it.

I am also pleased that the Court did not undo the 18,000 marriages that have already been performed in the state. As Californians see these families caring for each other, raising children, and going about their lives, conservative fear tactics about marriage equality will stop working. Already, polling has found Californians split on a potential amendment to allow marriage equality.

More on this issue:

Column: Expressing Faith Through Marriage Equality

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org