CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Why Unions Matter to Hispanics

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

All workers have the democratic right to band together in unions, but today this freedom is under attack. In the past, the American government staunchly defended workers’ right to organize, but today workers attempting to organize a union face a Herculean task. Corporations, rather than workers, control the union election process. Union-busting campaigns based on coercion and intimidation are rampant, and too often anti-union companies violate workers’ rights. Fighting organizing efforts has become an exact science—with firms making millions by guiding corporations through the process of defeating workers who wish to have representation in the workplace.

Read more here.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (Oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (Immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org