CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

The Stimulus: Four Reasons We Can’t Afford Not to Have One

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Read Will Straw’s column, "The Case for Economic Stimulus"

After more than a year of federal efforts to shore up the economy by heaping loans, money, and guarantees onto Wall Street, Americans are still suffering from the deepest economic crisis in recent memory. More, different measures are needed. Below are four reasons why a direct economic stimulus package is exactly what the current crisis needs.

Download as PDF • See more about federal spending

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education, poverty)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, health care, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (Oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Legal Progress, Half in Ten Education Fund)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (Immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org