CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Who Does the House GOP Stand With?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Léalo en español

This infographic contains an update.

It’s been almost five months since the Senate passed its immigration reform bill, S. 744. Each day that the House of Representatives refuses to take up reform costs the country $37 million, with more than $5 billion in potential revenue lost so far. And just yesterday, House Speaker John Boehner (R-OH) announced that House Republicans would never agree to go to a conference committee with the Senate bill so that the two houses can work out their differences. This statement came only a few days after House leadership reaffirmed that they will not take any votes on immigration this year. By not doing so, House GOP leaders are protecting the interests of a small pocket of extremists and rejecting the will of a supermajority of Americans across the political spectrum.

The overwhelming consensus of the public—including almost every major business, labor, and faith organization across the nation—is that the time for reform is now. Take a look at who supports immigration reform and the marginal few who oppose it:

CD2_CAP_Cards_V5_1200

*Update, November 19, 2013: This infographic has been updated to address confusion between national labor unions and affiliates.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org