CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Infographic: Ensuring that Prohibited Abusers Give Up Their Guns in New Jersey

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This fact sheet was originally published on June 22, 2015, and has been updated to reflect the most recent legislation.

New Jersey has enacted strong laws to prohibit domestic abusers and stalkers from possessing guns; however, the state does not have a comprehensive system in place for ensuring that these individuals actually surrender any firearms in their possession once they become prohibited.

While New Jersey has taken important steps to protect victims of domestic violence from gun violence, more can be done to keep guns out of the hands of stalkers and abusers.

NJabusers-infographic-March2016

See the June 22, 2015, version of this fact sheet.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Beatriz Lopez (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.741.6255 or blopez@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Rafael Medina
202.478.5313 or rjmedina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Sally Tucker
202.481.8103 or sstucker@americanprogress.org