CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Cities that Are Building Resilience to Climate Change

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This map highlights 50 cities that have already taken steps to increase their resilience to extreme weather and other climate change impacts. These actions include building sea walls and levees, restoring wetlands and dunes, factoring climate change risks into infrastructure, building designs, and public health planning. The map includes cities that are implementing actions in their adaptation plan, developing a plan, or taking initial steps to build resilience without a plan in place yet. The cities included on the map is not an exhaustive list of metro areas taking resilience action, as many other cities are adapting to more extreme heat, floods, and drought even if they are not publicly attributing these growing risks to climate change.

 

Mark Dennin was an intern at Center for American Progress. Cathleen Kelly is a Senior Fellow with the Center for American Progress. Arpita Bhattacharyya is Research Associate to Distinguished Senior Fellow Carol Browner.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org