CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

General: Archives

New Teachers Are Staying in Their Jobs Longer

Seventy percent of new teachers stay in their positions for longer than five years, write the authors.

| Friday, January 9, 2015

Short-Term and Long-Term Fiscal Outlooks

Failing to distinguish short term from long term often confuses the federal budget debate, writes author Harry Stein.

| Thursday, January 8, 2015

Implications of Shifting Demographics

Changing electoral demographics will have noticeable effects on the 2016 elections, writes author Patrick Oakford.

| Wednesday, January 7, 2015

The Fossil-Fuel Industry’s Spending

The coal, oil, and gas industries spent more than three-quarters of a billion dollars in the 2014 election cycle, write the authors.

| Monday, January 5, 2015

A Look at the U.S. Economy in December

CAP economist Christian E. Weller examines the state of the U.S. economy in December 2014.

| Friday, January 2, 2015

Fossil-Fuel Industry Spending in the Midterm Elections

The coal, oil, and gas industries spent more than three-quarters of a billion dollars in the 2014 election cycle. The question is: What will be the return on that investment?

| Monday, December 22, 2014

The Silver Line

To fully realize the potential of Metro’s Silver Line, policymakers must break with past development practices, writes the author.

| Thursday, December 18, 2014

Public Policy is Needed to Level the Playing Field for Women

Only public policy can ensure that all women have the chance to participate fully and thrive, writes author Judith Warner.

| Wednesday, December 17, 2014

Social Security and Women’s Economic Security

The Social Security program should be strengthened to support working women, explain the authors.

| Tuesday, December 16, 2014

Remedying Gender Inequality Through Public Policy

There are lessons to learn from other countries where public policy has been used to help women succeed, write the authors.

| Monday, December 15, 2014

The Orion Launch

Authors Peter Juul and Rudy deLeon write on the significance of the Orion launch.

| Friday, December 12, 2014

State-Level Promise Zones

State leaders can adopt the Promise Zones model to support innovative localities, explain the authors.

| Thursday, December 11, 2014

Investing in Preschool

Many children currently lack access to high-quality preschool, write the authors.

| Wednesday, December 10, 2014

The Federal Coal Program

Reforms are needed to fix an outdated federal coal program, explains the author.

| Tuesday, December 9, 2014

The Barriers to Higher Education

Undocumented students must navigate a labyrinth of policies from federal, state, and postsecondary institutions to earn a college degree, explains Zenen Jaimes Pérez.

| Friday, December 5, 2014