CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Despite Stable Recovery, Wages Have Yet to Budge

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulbNew data from the Bureau of Labor Statistics, or BLS, today added to the evidence that the U.S. economy continues uninterrupted along a path of recovery, albeit a moderate path. U.S. employers add 209,000 new jobs in July, and the unemployment rate was basically unchanged at 6.2 percent. Revisions to older data showed the U.S. economy averaging job growth of 245,000 jobs per month for the past three months.

But today’s report also indicates both how far the recovery still has to go and the particular challenges posed by a job market creating a preponderance of low-paying, low-quality jobs. Both the quality and quantity of new jobs being created in the economy are weighing on inclusivity of the growth that is taking place.

For more on this idea, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here