CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Why Administrative Action on Immigration Would Benefit American Workers

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulbLast week, President Barack Obama announced that after a year of Republicans in the House of Representatives blocking immigration reform, he would begin his own efforts to fix the country’s immigration system. The president said that he asked Secretary of Homeland Security Jeh Johnson and Attorney General Eric Holder to recommend what steps he can take.

A recent report by the Center for American Progress outlines some of the executive actions President Obama should consider in order to repair our broken immigration system. The most significant action would expand temporary protection from deportation to certain undocumented immigrants—for example, individuals who have committed no crimes and have lived and worked in the United States for at least 10 years. In order to be eligible for this type of temporary protection, the individual would be required to register with the government, undergo criminal and national security background checks, and request the exercise of administrative discretion—a temporary reprieve from deportation that grants a work permit.

The upsides to such deferred action are numerous. It would enhance our security by bringing a broader swath of the immigrant population into the legal fold, enabling law-enforcement authorities to more effectively target their resources toward those who pose a threat to public safety. It would also lay the groundwork for future legislative reforms by starting the process of registering the undocumented population, a central—and likely inevitable—component of immigration reform.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here