CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Addressing Russian Aggression in Ukraine

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulb

Russia’s military occupation and annexation of the Ukrainian region of Crimea undermines the rules, norms, institutions, and legal frameworks that have been the backbone of the international order since World War II and is a test of the international system’s ability to respond. Earlier this month, the Center for American Progress argued that the United States must impose a cost on Russia and provide strong, lasting support for Ukraine while reassuring allies and reinforcing the international system. Both the United States and Europe have taken small but important steps toward these goals, including an initial set of sanctions against political and business leaders close to Russian President Vladimir Putin and one government-connected bank, as well as a total pledge of $16 billion in aid, mostly in the form of loan guarantees. This should be the start of a coordinated international response that will reject Russia’s illegal actions and reinforce states on Russia’s periphery that seek peace, stability, and greater integration with the international community.

This week’s congressional deliberations and meetings between President Barack Obama and his counterparts in Europe should lay the groundwork for a U.S. response that simultaneously imposes sanctions on Russia and provides support to Ukraine.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here