CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Is the United States a Leader in the Clean Energy Race?

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulb

A new green industrial revolution—driven by a variety of concerns and opportunities—is gathering steam across the globe. In some regions, it is spurred by land and water scarcity. In others, it is driven by rising concerns about catastrophic climate change. And in even more regions, new energy technology and financial innovations have opened up exciting industrial and economic possibilities. Whatever the cause of this transformation, at its center is a new approach to energy characterized by an increasing commitment to renewable energy, energy conservation and efficiency, and a 21st-century approach of generating and moving fuels and electricity that recognizes—not denies—our climate and natural resource challenges.

This growing commitment is already informing governmental, corporate, and private decisions. It is beginning to affect how regions produce, distribute, and consume energy. Over the next few decades, it will alter everything: where we live, how we travel, and how we think about economic growth and prosperity. The commitment is only at its beginning stages; it will become the source of expanding global markets and of millions of new jobs in a hugely diverse set of industries and occupations, from cutting-edge research to installation of technologies such as rooftop solar panels and utility-scale wind farms.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here