CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Americans Support ENDA

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

idea light bulb

Within the next three weeks, the Senate is expected to vote on the Employment Non-Discrimination Act, or ENDA, which would provide basic protections from employment discrimination to the nation’s 8 million lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, workers. ENDA builds upon an enduring American value that workers should be judged on their merits and not their identity. It is past time for Congress to ensure basic fairness for every American, regardless of their sexual orientation or gender identity.

Over the past several months, voters have witnessed the effects of gridlock and extreme partisanship on the nation and the federal government. Just two weeks after the government shutdown, ENDA provides Congress with the opportunity to unite behind common-sense, bipartisan legislation that maintains the support of a vast majority of the public.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here