CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: Erdoğan Should Focus on Addressing Turkey’s Serious Issues

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Last Tuesday Turkish Prime Minister Recep Tayyip Erdoğan publicly stated that he had evidence that Israel orchestrated the July 3 military coup in Egypt, which overthrew the democratically elected government of Egyptian President Mohamed Morsi. It soon emerged, however, that Prime Minister Erdoğan’s allegations were based on nothing more than a paranoid interpretation of a two-year-old YouTube video. But this allegation is just the latest example of the populist and increasingly inflammatory turn in Prime Minister Erdoğan’s rhetoric, designed to distract domestic political debate away from several serious challenges to Turkey’s growth and regional stability by exploiting resentment against Israel. The prime minister’s thinly veiled anti-Semitism is unhelpful to Turks and hurts Turkey’s image in the world.

Turkish economic growth has slowed significantly in recent weeks, and the country’s macroeconomic outlook is increasingly bleak. The expected slowdown in the U.S. Federal Reserve’s stimulus measures has reverberated through a number of emerging markets, none more so than Turkey. Turkey had enjoyed large capital inflows from investors seeking higher returns than they could earn from U.S. bonds, the prices of which were depressed by the Fed’s bond-buying program. But with the end of this stimulus, the bubble has begun to deflate. This slowdown has been particularly visible in light of a spate of large infrastructure and real-estate investments, such as the Gezi Park redevelopment that sparked Turkey’s recent protests; a new bridge across the Bosphorus, also known as the Istanbul Strait, which connects the Black Sea to the Sea of Marmara; and a new international airport, meant to be the world’s largest.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here