CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: The Fight for LGBT Equality Is Not Over

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

In late June the Supreme Court delivered a historic ruling affirming that all loving and committed couples who marry deserve equal respect and treatment under federal law. This decision is key in strengthening families and ensuring greater access to the rights and responsibilities of marriage for same-sex couples.

Marriage equality, however, is not the end of the road in the progression toward full equality for lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender, or LGBT, Americans. Pervasive discrimination in the workplace harms the economic security of LGBT workers and their families. LGBT immigrants and asylum seekers continue to face significant barriers to shelter, safety, and security. LGBT youth face injustice in schools, on top of alarming rates of family rejection at home. And basic health care is still out of reach for too many LGBT patients.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here