CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: The Affordable Care Act Will Increase Access to Health Insurance Coverage for Same-Sex Couples

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

Last month the U.S. Supreme Court heard oral arguments in cases challenging restrictions on the recognition of marriage between same-sex couples. Importantly, one of these cases challenges the Defense of Marriage Act—the federal law defining marriage as the union between one man and one woman—meaning that the justices’ ruling will have a profound impact on federal policy that affects the nearly 650,000 American families headed by same-sex couples.

As the Court deliberates the cases in the coming weeks, however, these couples and their families must carry on with their lives and continue to navigate the numerous social systems that too often threaten their health, well-being, and economic security by denying them equal access to vital programs and benefits.

Thus, while the Supreme Court is at the center of the federal conversation about families headed by same-sex couples, federal agencies can also significantly influence the daily lives of same-sex couples and their children. In particular, policymakers implementing key provisions of the Affordable Care Act have already released rules this year that will help increase access to affordable health insurance coverage for these families, mitigating some of the significant harms posed by discriminatory laws such as the Defense of Marriage Act.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here