CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Idea of the Day: The Middle Class Won in Last Night’s Election

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon
idea light bulb

The electoral victory for the middle class in this election should translate into middle-class-focused policies. Those policies will help more than just middle-class families.

To be sure, a government that recognizes the middle class as the key driver of economic growth is more likely to boost infrastructure, education, scientific discoveries, and other parts of the economy that nurture the broad middle class.

But policies that recognize the dangers of rising inequality will also help restore the American Dream of social and economic mobility for lower-income people.

As a stronger middle class consumes more goods and services, produces a more talented workforce, and incubates more innovative entrepreneurs, the beneficiaries will include businesses and the people who own and invest in them.

For more on this topic, please see:

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

 

This is part of a regular column: Idea of the Day

For more from the same column, click here