CAP en EspaƱol
Small CAP Banner

Federal Courts in Crisis

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Today, more than 160 million Americans—over half of the U.S. population—live in a community with a federal courtroom vacancy. That means that there simply are not enough judges on the bench to hear the cases that are piling up. The third branch of government is not functioning because our nation’s courts—where Americans vindicate their most cherished constitutional rights—do not have a full complement of judges on the bench. At the same time, it’s clear that no matter the issue—health care, immigration, environment, marriage equality, consumer protection—the judiciary will continue to play an increasingly important role in the lives of all Americans as well as in the success of the progressive legislative agenda.

On April 17, the Center for American Progress Action Fund and the Committee for a Fair Judiciary discussed the process and politics of judicial confirmations, the impact of the judicial vacancies crisis, and solutions for 2012 and beyond.

Read more about this event and watch video here. (CAP Action)

 

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org