CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Why U.S. Airstrikes in Iraq Are Not a Major Strategy Change

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Despite the frenzy over President Barack Obama’s authorization for airstrikes that began Friday, the humanitarian aid measures and the airstrikes to protect U.S. personnel in Iraq do not represent a major change in U.S. strategy for Iraq and Syria.

Much like Mr. Obama’s announcements the past two years on arming the opposition in Syria, Thursday and Friday’s actions amount to slight tactical shifts. These U.S. actions could affect important aspects of the instability in Iraq, but the follow-through will depend–heavily–on what Iraqis do for their country. Whether you deem this getting others to pull their weight or leading from behind, Mr. Obama made his position clear Thursday night: “As commander in chief, I will not allow the United States to be dragged into fighting another war in Iraq.”

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Wall Street Journal.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org