CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Miliband's Visit to Washington Provides a Timely Reminder of the Post-Crash Challenges Faced on Both Sides of the Atlantic

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This week, as Ed Miliband visits Washington DC for the first time as Leader of the Labour Party, the relationship between progressives on both sides of the Atlantic will come under scrutiny. But the reality is that similar core values underpin progressivism in the USA and Britain today.

As our history shows, our two countries share the same values and have common aspirations for our people and our countries. Over the course of the 20th Century, progressive movements in the US and UK have fought against injustice, built institutions to protect our citizens and expand opportunities, and ensured economic growth provides shared prosperity for all. This leadership and vision has not only improved the lives of those at home, but has also inspired progressives abroad.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Huffington Post.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org