CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

How Obama Could Counter Critics of His Foreign Policy

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

The administration’s attempt to use speeches to avoid being defined by domestic opponents and world events was overtaken by a rapid succession of stories and fierce criticism at home, including the furor over the deal with the Taliban to release Sgt. Bowe Bergdahl and the Islamist terrorist blitzkrieg across Iraq.

By mid-June, Americans gave Barack Obama the lowest foreign-policy ratings of his presidency: only 37% approve, with 57% disapproving. Though foreign policy was once a perceived strong suit, President Obama’s rating is as low as President George W. Bush‘s was in mid-2006, the summer of discontent with Mr. Bush’s Iraq policy.

This state of affairs is unfortunate–but reparable.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Wall Street Journal.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Katie Murphy (Legal Progress)
202.495.3682 or kmurphy@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org