CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Sound-Off: An In-Depth Look at What President Obama's 'Clean Power Plan' Means

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

This week, the Obama administration released its “Clean Power Plan” that marks the first ever limit on carbon pollution from existing power plants. By 2030, existing power plants will have to reduce their carbon emissions by 30 percent, with 25 percent of that drop coming by 2020. The news was widely praised by climate scientists, doctors, and public health advocates.

Quite predictably some conservatives immediately slammed the plan, claiming that it is big government overreach. It is easy to write this off as another inside-the-beltway battle between Republicans and Democrats; especially over something as seemingly technical as limiting carbon pollution. But the proposed pollution limits are something we should all care about as Americans, and the African American community in particular should praise these rules as our community tends to get the raw end of the climate change stick.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in ESSENCE.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org