CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Making Good on the Modi Mandate

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Elections in India drew to a close on Friday, fulfilling predictions that Narendra Modi of the Hindu nationalist Bharatiya Janata Party, or BJP, will be the next prime minister of the world’s largest democracy. What’s more is that Modi’s party alone will claim a parliamentary majority, the first to be held by a single party in 30 years.

Modi campaigned on the promise of job creation and economic development, with the backdrop of India’s flagging growth, corruption scandals and frustrated youth population. But measuring his success based on gross domestic product and the quantity of jobs alone would be misguided. The real challenge for Modi – who critics call sectarian and divisive – lies in ensuring inclusive growth that reduces inequality and generates high-quality jobs for all, including minorities and marginalized populations.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in U.S. News & World Report.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org