CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

It's time to stop eating local

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

Want to do something for the planet? Stop eating local.

It’s not just a bad year to eat local. California is suffering a severe drought. Using water to grow food we could grow elsewhere is putting excessive strain on Southern California.

Even in good years with plenty of water falling in California, eating local in Southern California probably does more environmental harm than good.

There are parts of the world where eating local can reduce your carbon footprint. Southern Californian isn’t one of them.

Californians have a long history of leading on environmental issues, from cleaning up air pollution to starting America’s first carbon trading program. We’ve also been in the vanguard of the local food movement which has many motivations – among the strongest is a belief that eating local will have benefits for the planet we live on.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in Orange County Register.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org