CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

New York City Leads the American Workforce Out of the Mad Men Era

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

New York City, the city is not just world renowned for its bagels and baseball team, but also for being an international business capital and the center of the financial universe. As a country, we’re used to keeping an eye on New York to anticipate the next cultural trend or the latest innovation.

So it’s only natural that New York should seize the opportunity to lead American workplaces out of the Mad Men era and into the 21st century.

New York’s workforce, like the country’s, has shifted dramatically over the last few decades. Yet our workplace policies have not kept pace. While it used to be rare for mothers to work outside the home, today two-thirds of mothers are the breadwinners or co-breadwinners for their families. In New York state, women are the primary or co-breadwinner for 56% households and single mothers lead nearly nearly 300,000 families in New York City alone.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Daily Beast.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, Talk Poverty, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org