CAP en Español
Small CAP Banner

Opinion: Governor’s transportation policies running on empty

    PRINT:
  • print icon
  • SHARE:
  • Facebook icon
  • Twitter icon
  • Share on Google+
  • Email icon

On April 12, the northbound lanes of the 82-year-old Pulaski Skyway were shut to allow for major repairs. While necessary, the Skyway project encapsulates all that has gone wrong with transportation policy during Governor Christie’s tenure.

New Jersey’s dynamic economy relies heavily on transportation infrastructure – especially commuter rail access to Manhattan. In 2003, the existing commuter rail tunnels reached their full capacity, meaning New Jersey Transit is unable to add additional service to meet peak morning and evening demand.

At more than 100 years old, these tunnels represent a precarious yet vital link that needs constant attention and repair. This bottleneck will become even more problematic in the coming years as New Jersey is expected to grow to nearly 10 million residents by 2030.

Read more here.

This article was originally published in The Record.

To speak with our experts on this topic, please contact:

Print: Liz Bartolomeo (poverty, health care)
202.481.8151 or lbartolomeo@americanprogress.org

Print: Tom Caiazza (foreign policy, energy and environment, LGBT issues, gun-violence prevention)
202.481.7141 or tcaiazza@americanprogress.org

Print: Allison Preiss (economy, education)
202.478.6331 or apreiss@americanprogress.org

Print: Tanya Arditi (immigration, Progress 2050, race issues, demographics, criminal justice, Legal Progress)
202.741.6258 or tarditi@americanprogress.org

Print: Chelsea Kiene (women's issues, TalkPoverty.org, faith)
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org

Print: Elise Shulman (oceans)
202.796.9705 or eshulman@americanprogress.org

Print: Benton Strong (Center for American Progress Action Fund)
202.481.8142 or bstrong@americanprogress.org

Spanish-language and ethnic media: Jennifer Molina
202.796.9706 or jmolina@americanprogress.org

TV: Rachel Rosen
202.483.2675 or rrosen@americanprogress.org

Radio: Chelsea Kiene
202.478.5328 or ckiene@americanprogress.org